Independent (Private) CA Colleges & Universities


The Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities (AICCU) is comprised of 78 private nonprofit colleges and universities, which make up the Independent California Colleges and Universities (ICCU) sector. The ICCU sector plays a pivotal role in the development of the state's model higher education offerings and in making California a symbol of innovation across the globe. Within California, ICCU institutions award over 20 percent of all undergraduate degrees and over 50 percent of graduate degrees, making them the largest preparers of California's advanced workforce.


WICHE and WUE Program Links

What is the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE)?

If you are a resident of a WICHE state, you are eligible to request a reduced WUE tuition rate of 150% of the resident rate at one of the 145 participating schools in the West. WICHE states include: - Alaska - Arizona - California - Colorado - Hawaii - Idaho - Montana - Nevada - New Mexico - N. Dakota - Oregon - S. Dakota - Utah - Washington - Wyoming. Virtually all undergraduate fields are available to WUE students at participating colleges and universities. Some institutions have opened their entire curriculum on a space-available or first-come, first-serve basis; others offer only designated programs at the reduced WUE rate. Currently, some 145 public institutions participate in WUE; not all public institutions in every WICHE state participate in the program. WICHE's student exchange programs offer a broad range of higher education options for students each year at undergraduate, graduate, and professional levels. Residents of WICHE states can gain affordable access to programs, states avoid costly and unnecessary duplication of programs and facilities, and colleges and universities can devote their resources to improving the quality of their educational offerings.

WICHE Links:

FAQ Links: